Criminal Justice: Find Articles

What is Full Text vs. Indexed Article?

- Full text means that the entire article is available to read and download.

- Indexed articles means that the citation and abstract of the article are available, but not the entire article.

If you don't see the PDF button of the article, click on the Green WP "Check for Full Text" button. This will search for the article in other databases or for the print version on the shelf. 

Steps to finding full text availability:

For articles that do not have full text availability, check Google Scholar, WorldCat, or the WPU Library can order them via ILL for you.

Once you have searched for articles in Biological Abstracts/PubMed/Medline, etc. you may need to do additional searches for full text articles. Because these databases are citation indexes, full text articles may not be available. Links provided may direct you to publisher's websites but you may hit a paywall, asking you to pay for the article you are searching for. As a WPU student, you should not pay for articles when there are other ways to obtaining quality, scholarly articles.

1. One way to find full text availability is by using Google Scholar. Google Scholar should be used to find specific articles, not to do article searching in.  Indexes like Biological Science and PubMed provide the most current peer reviewed literature  in tier one publications that your professors are expecting you to use. Using the widget below, you should be using a citation or article title to search Google Scholar. If a full text article is available, it will be linked on the right hand side indicated by [PDF]. See example. 

2. Another way to find full text availability is by utilizing WorldCat. WorldCat is a database that finds articles, books and other library materials available through other libraries. When you use WorldCat, you are resource sharing with other institutions. This is called an Interlibrary Loan. WorldCat also provides links to articles. You may be able to find a full text article without having to put in a request. Using the widget below, first search by article title. Then select the article link if available. See example. 

3. If your article is not available via Google Scholar or WorldCat, you can also place an ILL request for the article through WPU Library. Please email the citation of the article to Jeff Barnhardt, Circulation Supervisor at jbarnhardt@warnerpacific.edu. He can place a request for you.